What I’ll Be Carrying on the Trail

I understand that a gear list post is the most unoriginal subject matter for a backpacking website, however, it is almost obligatory. Every year, countless hikers post about their gear and tack on their almighty gear square image. Although it is repetitive, I do find it to be helpful to others wanting to dial in their pack or getting into backpacking in general. I spent countless hours researching and testing gear over the past few years, plus my 240-mile section hike of the AT last year. These things in mind, I kind of deserve to partake in sharing my gear list like my peers this 2018 season. To many people, a gear list is just a compiling list of equipment, but to a hiker these lists are a big personal victory. I am not ultralight, but I can say that I am so glad to be done counting ounces. Without further ado, here is my 2018 thru-hike Appalachian Trail gear list.

Sleep and Shelter System

Tent: Big Agnes Fly Creek HV UL 2 – https://www.rei.com/product/895955/big-agnes-fly-creek-hv-ul-2-tent

Sleeping pad: Big Agnes Insulated Air Core Ultra – https://www.rei.com/product/105157/big-agnes-insulated-air-core-ultra-sleeping-pad

Quilt: Enlightened Equipment Revelation 850DT 10 Degree – https://enlightenedequipment.com/revelation-850dt-10-purple-black/

Pack and Trekking Poles

Pack: Osprey Atmos AG 65L – https://www.rei.com/rei-garage/product/131476/osprey-atmos-ag-65-pack-mens

Trekking poles: Black Diamond Trail Ergo Cork Poles – https://www.rei.com/product/112568/black-diamond-trail-ergo-cork-trekking-poles-pair-womens

Cook System

Bear bag: Zpacks Bear Bagging Kit – http://www.zpacks.com/accessories/bear_bag.shtml

Stove: Jetboil MicroMo Cooking System – https://www.rei.com/product/100030/jetboil-micromo-cooking-system

Stuff sack: Sea to Summit Ultra-Sil – https://www.rei.com/product/777725/sea-to-summit-ultra-sil-dry-sack

Spoon: Sea to Summit Alpha Light – https://www.rei.com/product/782241/sea-to-summit-alpha-light-spoon-long

Lighter: Bic Mini, bought at gas stations or grocery stores

Water System

Filter: Sawyer Squeeze – https://www.rei.com/product/103050/sawyer-squeeze-water-filter-system

Water bladder: Platypus 70 fl. oz bottle – https://www.rei.com/product/820769/platypus-platy-water-bottle-70-fl-oz

Bottles: Two one-liter Smart Water bottles, bought at gas stations or grocery stores

Medical, Hygiene Kit

Trowel: TheTentLab The Deuce of Spades – https://www.rei.com/product/101795/thetentlab-the-deuce-of-spades-backcountry-potty-trowel

Towel: REI Co-op Multi Towel Lite Medium – https://www.rei.com/product/832933/rei-co-op-multi-towel-lite-medium-22-x-125

Soap: Dr. Bronner’s Organic Liquid Soap – https://www.rei.com/product/730925/dr-bronners-organic-liquid-soap-travel-size

Bug spray: Ben’s 30 percent DEET insect repellent – https://www.rei.com/product/868585/bens-bens-insect-repellent-30-percent-deet-34-fl-oz

Also: Wet wipes, comb, Band-Aids, moleskin, baby powder, tape, duct tape, ibuprofen, ear plugs, needles, tweezers, nail clippers, thread, dental floss, lip balm, toothpaste, toothbrush, hair ties, extra caps, and safety pin.


Shoes: Altra Lone Peak 3.0 Trail-Running Shoes – https://www.rei.com/rei-garage/product/123316/altra-lone-peak-30-trail-running-shoes-womens

Gaiters: Dirty Girl Gaiters – https://dirtygirlgaiters.com

Camp shoes: Fake “Crocs,”  bought from Walmart

Carried Clothes

Base layer bottoms: Patagonia Capilene Midweight Long Bottoms – https://www.rei.com/product/118324/patagonia-capilene-midweight-long-underwear-bottoms-mens

Base layer top: Patagonia Capilene Midweight Zip-Neck Long Top – https://www.rei.com/product/117734/patagonia-capilene-midweight-zip-neck-long-underwear-top-womens

Shorts: Patagonia Baggies – https://www.rei.com/product/897510/patagonia-baggies-shorts-womens

Socks: Darn Tough Micro Crew – https://www.rei.com/product/825037/darn-tough-micro-crew-cushion-hiking-socks-mens

Sock liners: Injinji Liner Crew Socks – https://www.rei.com/product/881305/injinji-liner-crew-socks

Puffy: Arc’teryx Cerium LT Down Hoodie – https://www.rei.com/product/117169/arcteryx-cerium-lt-down-hoodie-mens

Raincoat: Marmot PreCip Rain Jacket – https://www.rei.com/product/859278/marmot-precip-rain-jacket-mens

Camp socks: Thick wool socks

Underwear: ExOfficio Give-N-Go Sport Mesh Bikini Briefs – https://www.rei.com/product/895783/exofficio-give-n-go-sport-mesh-bikini-briefs-womens

Mittens: Manzella Adventure 100 WindStopper – https://www.rei.com/product/837941/manzella-adventure-100-windstopper-mittens-womens

Worn Clothing

Socks: Darn Tough Micro Crew – https://www.rei.com/product/825037/darn-tough-micro-crew-cushion-hiking-socks-mens

Shorts: Patagonia Baggies – https://www.rei.com/product/897510/patagonia-baggies-shorts-womens

Sock liners: Injinji Liner Crew Socks – https://www.rei.com/product/881305/injinji-liner-crew-socks

Underwear: ExOfficio Give-N-Go Sport Mesh Bikini Briefs – https://www.rei.com/product/895783/exofficio-give-n-go-sport-mesh-bikini-briefs-womens

Winter hat: North Face Salty Dog Beanie – https://www.thenorthface.com/shop/salty-dog-beanie?variationId=ZZR#hero=0

Summer hat: Columbia Union Brook Booney Hat – https://www.rei.com/rei-garage/product/123681/columbia-union-brook-booney-hat

Buff: https://www.rei.com/product/691367/buff-original-multifunctional-headwear

Winter extras: Fleece one-quarter zip and Patagonia Capilene Midweight Long Bottoms – https://www.rei.com/product/118324/patagonia-capilene-midweight-long-underwear-bottoms-mens

Glove liners: Smartwool Merino 250 – https://www.smartwool.com/shop/merino-250-gloves-sw018017?variationId=010


Electronics: iPhone, LifeProof case, GoPro Hero 5, charging cables, power bank, headphones, and adapter.

Headlamp: Black Diamond Cosmos – https://www.rei.com/product/117626/black-diamond-cosmo-headlamp

AT NOBO 2018 Guidebook: https://theatguide.com

Spot tracker:  https://www.findmespot.com/en/

Pack cover: Sea to Summit Ultra-Sil Cover – http://www.seatosummitusa.com/product/?item=Ultra-Sil%26reg%3B+Pack+Cover&o1=0&o2=0&o3=202-32

Others: Timex watch, pen, journal, Bible, repair kit, hand sanitizer, pepper spray, and small pocket knife.

Disclosure: I have not been sponsored nor do I represent these companies in any capacity. These are the items that I feel work best for me, and they may not work best for you. I do not recommend copying anyone’s gear list for your personal use without testing out items prior to a trip to ensure your own safety. 





Affiliate Disclosure

This website contains affiliate links, which means The Trek may receive a percentage of any product or service you purchase using the links in the articles or advertisements. The buyer pays the same price as they would otherwise, and your purchase helps to support The Trek's ongoing goal to serve you quality backpacking advice and information. Thanks for your support!

To learn more, please visit the About This Site page.

Comments 5

  • samantha 'clementine' perkins : Mar 14th

    I carried much of the same stuff as you will be carrying! I suggest you drill a hole (or use a existing one) to place a carabineer thru for your crocs so they can dangle off your pack. You never know if you’ll need the extra room in the pack. My crocs had a heel strap to make that part easy.

    • Samantha Rhodes : Mar 16th

      That’s a very good idea! I will probably use one of the existing holes so I can preserve the shoes a little longer on trail. Thanks for the advice!

  • Mel : Mar 15th

    Hi Samantha, thanks for this – the way you’ve broken items down into groups is really helpful. What is your pack base weight, with the above gear?

    • Samantha Rhodes : Mar 16th

      My winter base weight is 19 pounds, but I will lose a pound or two in the summer season. For the weight breakdown check this out: https://lighterpack.com/r/9crk60

      • Mel : Mar 19th



What Do You Think?