Scarbelly & Lore: The Start

Scarbelly: I will be completing a thru-hike of the Appalachian Trail this coming year alongside my wife. For the past three years I’ve worked as a loss prevention agent for a large retail chain. In my spare time I’ve spent most of my days hunting small game, fishing and playing video games. When it comes to backpacking my experience is fairly limited. I set up a tent once about ten years ago and didn’t last the night. Still, I am 100% sure that I will be one of the few to complete the Appalachian Trail this year. But enough about me! It’s the wife’s turn.

Lore: I’m 25. I enjoy photography, old world folklore and horror movies. I’ve left my full time job as a teller for a cash transportation company to take on the Appalachian Trail. I have little to no outdoor experience, if you can even call it that. A few family camping trips that I’m pretty positive ended in a car. This trip for me is more then just a trek through the wilderness; It’s a lifestyle change. I’ve led a life of little to no physical activity so the past couple months leading up to our departure have been extremely eye opening. Barely able to make a 2-3 mile day, doing 8-12 miles a day was unthinkable to me when I first started. My determination will lead me through this but I am beyond grateful to have my husband by my side every step of the way. Here’s to a new journey for a new year.




Affiliate Disclosure

This website contains affiliate links, which means The Trek may receive a percentage of any product or service you purchase using the links in the articles or advertisements. The buyer pays the same price as they would otherwise, and your purchase helps to support The Trek's ongoing goal to serve you quality backpacking advice and information. Thanks for your support!

To learn more, please visit the About This Site page.

What Do You Think?